About brand
All my collections have history and romance. There are no cheap glamour only beauty, quality and elegance
Ralph Lauren
Ralph Lauren is all over the world famous american designer. His company Polo Ralph Lauren Corporation release clothes, accessories, underwear, perfumery, furniture, fabric, tableware, wallpapers, sweets, and also pets supplies. 

The USA designer Counsil gave Ralph Lauren a title  «The fashion icon», and also he received a title «The designer of the year»  three times (1986, 1995, 1996). 

The designer can be called the American Dream: he is a person who came from the lower orders and achieved great success.


Trade marks: 
Ralph Lauren, Polo Jeans Co., 
Rugby, RL Childrenswear, RRL, 
RLX, Chaps, Club Monaco, 
Purple Label, 
Blue Label, Lauren, 
Ralph Lauren Home, etc.


One of the main principles of the designer is use of innovations. His brand was the first from the top-of-the-range brands which started to sell goods through Internet, the function (QR-codes) was represented at first time in Ralph Lauren advertizing campaigns and a store at Madison Avenue in New York has a touch screen before the entrance. It is allowed to do shopping at any time of day or night. 




History:

1967
Ralph Lauren started a line of ties named Polo. In this way he wants to pay the tribute to the classical elegance which is a definitive distinction of a title game. 
1969
The brand Polo by Ralph Lauren became a first men's brand which was selled in New York store Bloomingdale's. For young man from Bronx it was not easy to reach it. A store had constantly advanced claims to designer. They demanded to change ties size or to take away his name from the products labeles if necessary. But Ralph Lauren didn't give up because he was sure in his success. He knew that right distributor will give him start in life and was ready to accept all requirements.
1971
First release of women's collection Polo in the USA. Creation of Polo logotype. Opening of the first Polo store. Women's Polo collection hits the shelves of Bloomingdale's store. How Ralph explains his success: «Once men needed ties to express themselves. Properly chosen  good-looking tie says about social status, taste and style of its owner.».
In 1971 to favour with his wife who was a fan of his menswear Ralph Lauren launches a womenswear line. And the logotype with polo-player appeared on the women's shirts labels at first time. 
This year was opened the first Polo store in the Beverly Hills area of good address (USA). 

1972
The brand releases a line of men's and women's clothes, which have already won  acceptance of customers . It shows incredible development rate of the brand. 
The famous polo shirts at first became accessible in 24 colours and right there became an integral part of american fashion. After polo appeared such famous products of Ralph Lauren as shirts Oxford, trousers «chinos», tweed jackets and denim shirts. 

1978
Launching of clothes collection Polo for boys. Two first fragrances were put on sale Polo, Polo for men and Lauren. The clothes collection launching named Westernwear.
In 1978 when shirts were made of polyester and the quality left a lot to be desired Ralph Lauren created cotton shirts for his sons and then launches a collection for boys Polo for Boys. «I cherish my family very much», - says Lauren,- «and when I create collection Polo, I always take into account not only my requests but their too.»  Soon appeared a girlswear collection and then the collection for babies. 
This year the brand entries into perfume market. In 1978 the designer creates two unique fragrances –  Polo for men and women's fragrance Lauren. Many years on – in 2002 – the brand releases the new men generation fragrance named Polo Blue.

1979
The name of Ralph Lauren is already familiar to americans and in 1979 the brand decided to launch it first major advertizing campaign. 
1981
Ralph Lauren became a first american designer who opened his own store in Europe. He decides to open boutique on New Bond Street in London and after 12 years the brand has a whole floor of the store. 
A few years later the designer opened a boutique in Paris and after opening a single-brand store in Milan Italian fashionists became interested in this mark.


1983
Launching of line Ralph Lauren Home.
1989
First appearance of men's trade mark in the famous store Bloomingdale's.
1993
Launching of menswear collection Polo Sport.
 
1994
Launching of menswear collection Purple Label.

1996
Launching of womenswear collection Polo Sport. Appeared collection Polo Jeans Co.

1998
Launching of line RLX, created with Polo Sport details.

1999
Launching of girlswear collection RALPH which was buyed by a brand of Monaco Club. 
2002
The brand celebrates its 35-anniversary. Launching of womenswear collection Blue Label.
2003
Opening of the first childrenswear boutique in New York. Besides, in New York was open a first showroom with all Ralph Lauren menswear collection. Ralph Lauren suggests customers of his website to create a polo shirt model chosing colour, logotype and then order it on a website Polo.com. For this purpose on the site is opened a section Create your own, suggesting users try on the role of designers. 
2004
Opening a store in Milan (Italy). 

2005
Book Diary of a collection.

2007
Ralph Lauren received a title «The fashion icon» of  The USA designer Counsil.

Ralph Lauren became an official designer of american team at Olimpics in Peking. Basis of the sport outfit became famous polo shirts maden in the colours of the American flag.  

Maden from different materials, with different sizes and colours, ties led to fashion revolution which  had happened  quite often at that time. Intoxicating success of this accessory made it an intergral wardrobe detail of every stylish man. 

To customize clothes for changing american life style the mark launch at first hi-tech line RLX in 1998 and then (in 1994) a line of suits for young men named Polo Jeans Co, Blue Label for women in 2002 and its famous classical but sexy line Rugby for women in 2002. In 2004 was released the clothes line for 16-25-years girls and many others after it.

Thinking about mark image Ralph Lauren openes his first showroom in New York to introduce the line Ralph Lauren and others marks of line. This year in New York again opens the first signature boutique of childrenswear Polo. 

Follow its own tradition to keep up with the times the mark use all innovative technologies.   

After launching web-sites the mark placed a large touch screen before the entrance of the store at Madison Avenue. With the help of this screen customers can do shopping with one click at any time of day or night. David Lauren, the head of advertising department comments this project in such a way: «We have seen «Minority Report»by Steven Spielberg and decided to find a way anyhow to use this unusual technology to rise mark sales».

О марке
"Все мои коллекции обладают историей и романтикой. В них нет дешевого гламура, но есть красота, качество и ясность".
Ральф Лорен
Ральф Лорен (Ralph Lauren) – известный во всем мире американский дизайнер. Его компания Polo Ralph Lauren Corporation выпускает одежду, аксессуары, нижнее белье, парфюмерию, мебель, текстиль, посуду, обои, сладости, а также товары для животных. Советом дизайнеров США Ральф Лорен удостоен титула «Легенда моды», а также трижды получал звание «Дизайнер года» (1986, 1995, 1996 годы). 

Модельер является воплощением так называемой «американской мечты», когда человек из низших слоев общества может добиться значительных высот.


Торговые марки: 
Ralph Lauren, Polo Jeans Co., Rugby, 
RL Childrenswear, RRL, RLX, Chaps, 
Club Monaco, Purple Label, Blue Label,
Lauren, Ralph Lauren Home и др.


Одним из главных принципов дизайнера является также применение инновационных разработок. Его бренд первым среди люксовых марок стал продавать товары через интернет, в его рекламных кампаниях впервые была представлена функция Quick Response (QR-коды), а магазин на Мэдисон авеню в Нью-Йорке имеет перед входом сенсорный экран, через который можно совершать покупки в любое время суток.



Хронология

1967
Ральф Лорен запускает в США линию, состоящую из 26 галстуков, под названием Polo. Так он хочет отдать дань классической элегантности, которая является отличительным признаком одноименной игры.
1969
Марка Polo by Ralph Lauren стала первой мужской маркой, изделия которой можно было найти в нью-йоркском магазине Bloomingdale's. Достичь этого было непростым делом для молодого человека из Бронкса. Магазин постоянно выдвигал претензии дизайнеру. То требовали изменить размер галстуков, то убрать в случае необходимости свое имя с бирки изделий. Ральф Лорен не сдавался, поскольку был уверен в своем успехе. Он знал, что именно правильный дистрибьютор даст ему путевку в жизнь и готов был принять все его условия.
1971
Выпуск первой женской коллекции Polo в США. Появление логотипа Polo. Открытие первого магазина Polo. Женская коллекция Polo появляется на прилавках универмага Bloomingdale's. Ральф объясняет успех так: «Когда-то средством самовыражения у мужчин был галстук. Правильно подобранный красивый галстук говорил о социальном статусе, вкусе и стиле хозяина».
Чтобы сделать приятное своей жене, которая была поклонницей его мужской одежды, Ральф Лорен запускает линию одежды для женщин. И логотип, изображающий игрока поло, впервые появился на женских блузках.
В том же году первый магазин Polo открыл свои двери в престижном районе Беверли-Хиллс (США).

1972
Марка выпускает линию мужской и женской одежды, которые тоже завоевывают признание аудитории. Это свидетельствует о невероятных темпах развития бренда. 
Знаменитые поло впервые стали доступны в 24 цветах и тут же стали неотъемлемой частью американской моды. Следом за поло вышли такие знаменитые продукты Ralph Lauren как рубашки Oxford, брюки «чинос», твидовые пиджаки и джинсовые рубашки.

1978
Когда рубашки шили из полиэстера, а качество их оставляло желать лучшего, Ральф Лорен создает рубашки из хлопка для своих сыновей и следом запускает коллекцию для мальчиков Polo for Boys. «Я очень дорожу своей семьей», - говорит Лорен,- «и когда я создаю коллекцию Polo, я всегда беру в расчет не только свои пожелания, но и их». 
Вскоре появляется коллекция одежды для девочек и, следом, для младенцев.
В том же году марка выходит на парфюмерный рынок. В 1978 году дизайнер создает два уникальных аромата – мужской Polo for men и женский аромат Lauren. Много лет спустя а 2002 году, марка выпускает аромат нового поколения мужчин под названием Polo Blue.

1979
Имя Ральфа Лорена уже знакомо американской публики, а и в 1979 году марка решает запустить свою первую крупную рекламную кампанию.
1981
Ральф Лорен становится первым американским дизайнером, который открывает магазин в Европе. Он решает открыть бутик на New Bond Street в Лондоне, и 12 лет спустя марке принадлежит целый этаж в магазине.
Несколько лет спустя дизайнер открыл бутик в Париже, а после марка стала соблазнять итальянских модников, открыв монобрендовый магазин в Милане.

1983
Запуск линии Ralph Lauren Home.
1993
Запуск коллекции мужской одежды Polo Sport.
 
1994
Запуск коллекции мужской одежды Purple Label.
1996
Запуск коллекции женской одежды Polo Sport. Увидела свет коллекция Polo Jeans Co.
1998
Запуск линии RLX, созданной с использованием технологий Polo Sport.
1999
Запуск коллекции для девушек RALPH. Приобретение маркой Клуба Монако. 
2002
Празднование 35ой годовщины марки. Открытие бутика Ralph Lauren в Нью-Йорке. Запуск женской коллекции Blue Label.
2003
Открытие первого бутика детской одежды в Нью-Йорке. Кроме того, в Нью-Йорке открывается первый шоу-рум, в котором представлена вся мужская коллекция одежды Ralph Lauren Ральф Лорен предлагает пользователям своего интернет-сайта самостоятельно создать модель рубашки поло, выбрав понравившийся цвет, логотип, а затем заказать ее на сайте Polo.com. Для этого на сайте открывается раздел Create your own, предлагающий пользователям выступить в роли дизайнеров.
2004
Открытие магазина в Милане (Италия).

2005
Книга Diary of a collection.

2007
Ральф Лорен получил титул «Легенда моды» Совета дизайнеров США.
Ральф Лорен стал официальным дизайнером американской сборной на Олимпиаде в Пекине. Основой униформы спортсменов стали выполненные в цветах американского флага легендарные рубашки-поло.

Сделанные из разных материалов, разные по размеру и цветам, галстуки стали виновниками одного из переворотов в моде, происходивших в то время довольно часто. Головокружительный успех этого аксессуара сделал его неотъемлемым предметом гардероба любого элегантного мужчины.

Чтобы адаптировать одежду для изменившегося образа жизни американцев, марка запускает сначала высокотехнологичную линию RLX в 1998 году, а затем (в 1994) ориентированную на молодых мужчин линию костюмов под названием Polo Jeans Co, Blue Label для женщин в 2002 году и свои знаменитую классическую, но в то же время сексуальную линию Rugby для женщин в 2002 году. А в 2004 году выходит линия одежды для девушек 16-25 лет, а вслед за ней еще множество других.


Заботясь об имидже марки, Ральф Лорен открывает свой первый шоу-рум в Нью-Йорке, чтобы представить линию Ralph Lauren и другие линии марки. В том же году опять же в Нью-Йорке открывается первый именной бутик детской одежды Polo.
Следуя своей традиции идти в ногу со временем, марка использует все инновационные технологии. Запустив интернет-сайты, марка размещает огромный сенсорный экран у входа в магазин на Мэдисон авеню. С помощью этого экрана посетители могут совершать покупки одним щелчком мышки в любое время суток. Дэвид Лоран, директор рекламного отдела, так комментирует этот проект: «Мы посмотрели фильм Стивена Спилберга «Особое мнение» и решили, что надо, во что бы то ни стало, найти способ использовать эту необыкновенную технологию для повышения продаж марки».